Amgen Tour of California Email Sign-Up |   

World-Class Athlete Roster Announced for Inaugural Amgen Tour of California Cycling Road Race

Race Presenter AEG Releases Details of International Field for February 19-26 Event

LOS ANGELES, February 15, 2006 - AEG, organizers of the Amgen Tour of California, today announced the initial roster of professional cyclists submitted to the UCI (Union Cycliste International) for participation in the inaugural Amgen Tour of California (UCI 2.1), an internationally sanctioned professional cycling road race that will host 16 teams and 128 riders racing throughout California February 19-26, 2006.*

Attracting an unprecedented field of riders from more than 25 countries, the race will bring the top cycling talent in the world to compete across 600 miles of California roadway from San Francisco to Redondo Beach.

The collection of riders, considered one of the strongest fields of participants ever to race in the United States, includes Australian Michael Rogers of the T-Mobile Team, who will be the first rider to wear the world champion's jersey on U.S. soil since Greg Lemond in 1990. Other notable riders who will begin the race in San Francisco on February 19 include:

Three riders who placed in the top-ten of the 2005 Tour de France

  • Levi Leipheimer (Gerolsteiner), 6th
  • Cadel Evans (Davitamon-Lotto), 8th
  • Floyd Landis (Phonak Hearing Systems), 9th
Three stage winners from the 2005 Tour de France:

  • David Zabriskie (Team CSC), Stage 1
  • George Hincapie (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team), Stage 15
  • Paolo Savoldelli (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team), Stage 17
Two wearers of the Yellow Jersey in the 2005 Tour de France:

  • David Zabriskie (Team CSC), Stages 1-3; third American rider ever to lead the Tour de France
  • Jens Voight (Team CSC), Stage 9
Two winners of the Giro d'Italia:

  • Gilberto Simoni (Prodir-Saunier Duval), 2001 and 2003
  • Paolo Savoldelli (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team), 2002 and 2005
Three World Champions:

  • Michael Rogers (T-Mobile), Time Trial - 2003, 2004 and 2005
  • Danny Pate (Team TIAA-CREF), U23 Time Trial - 2001
  • Sergey Lagutin (Navigators Insurance), U23 Road Race - 2003
Two Medalists from ATHENS 2004 Olympic Games Time Trial:

  • Viatcheslav Ekimov (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team), Silver
  • Bobby Julich (Team CSC), Bronze
In addition to these athletes, the competition for the overall victory is expected to include: Chris Horner (DVL), Nathan O'Neill (HNT), Tom Danielson (DSC), Stuart O'Grady (CSC) and Saul Raisin (C.A.). Expect sprinters like Juan Jose Haedo (TUC), Gord Fraser (HNT), Robert Hunter (PHO) and California native "Fast" Freddie Rodriguez (DVL) to be in the hunt for daily stage wins. Riders with local roots, like San Jose native Ben Jacques-Maynes of KodakGallery.com/Sierra Nevada Pro Cycling, also will look to make their mark on the inaugural Amgen Tour of California.

"The Amgen Tour of California is attracting a caliber of riders in its first year that is evidence of the high esteem the race is being given by the international cycling community," said Bob Colarossi, managing director of the Amgen Tour of California. "This field is unprecedented in the history of modern American cycling and we're excited to host such an accomplished group of cyclists. It's our goal to give them a first-class experience in California."

For more information about the athletes competing in the Amgen Tour of California, please visit www.amgentourofcalifornia.com.

About Amgen

Amgen discovers, develops and delivers innovative human therapeutics. A biotechnology pioneer since 1980, Amgen was one of the first companies to realize the new science's promise by bringing safe and effective medicines from lab, to manufacturing plant, to patient. Amgen therapeutics have changed the practice of medicine, helping millions of people around the world in the fight against cancer, kidney disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and other serious illnesses. With a broad and deep pipeline of potential new medicines, Amgen remains committed to advancing science to dramatically improve people's lives. To learn more about our pioneering science and our vital medicines, visit www.amgen.com.

About AEG

AEG is one of the leading sports and entertainment presenters in the world. AEG, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Anschutz Corporation, owns or controls a collection of companies including facilities such as STAPLES Center, The Home Depot Center, Toyota Sports Center, NOKIA Theater Times Square, NOKIA Theatre at Grand Prairie and London's Manchester Evening News Arena; sports franchises including the Los Angeles Kings (NHL), Manchester Monarchs (AHL), Reading Royals (ECHL), Chicago Fire, Los Angeles Galaxy, Metrostars and San Jose Earthquakes (MLS), three hockey franchises operated in Europe, the Hammarby (Sweden) Futbol Club and management of shares of the Los Angeles Lakers (NBA) and Los Angeles Sparks (WNBA) owned by Philip Anschutz; AEG Marketing, a sponsorship, sales, naming rights and consulting company; AEG Merchandising, a multi-faceted merchandising company; and AEG Creative, a full-service marketing and advertising agency. AEG LIVE, one of the world's leading promoters of live concerts and other special events is also owned by AEG which is headquartered in Los Angeles.

*Team rosters are subject to change.

Media Contacts
Michael Henson
Director, Communications
(917) 902-0767

Michael Roth
Vice President, Communications
(213) 742-7155